Sedona Heritage Museum | Visit Sedona

Sedona Heritage Museum

Discover Sedona's unique history dating back to 1876.

Located within Jordan Historical Park, the Sedona Heritage Museum was once a homestead for the Jordan family. By the turn of the century, about 15 homesteading families relocated to the area. T.C. Schnebly and his wife Sedona Miller moved to Arizona and built a large two-story home that also served as the area's first hotel and general store. They named the post office and town in Sedona's honor.

The Sedona Heritage Museum features a range of exhibits, educational programs and artifacts that tell the story of Sedona's early pioneers and inhabitants, from the Native American tribes who first inhabited the area to the ranchers and homesteaders who settled here during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. From cowboy culture and early transportation to the arts and environmental preservation, the museum offers a fascinating glimpse into the many facets of Sedona's heritage.

Moviemaking in Sedona began in 1923 with Zane Grey's silent film, "Call of the Canyon." During the heyday of film-making, almost every major studio and every major star worked here, including John Wayne, James Stewart, Henry Fonda, Sterling Hayden, Joan Crawford, Glenn Ford, Robert DeNiro, Robert Young, Hopalong Cassidy, Tyrone Power, Rock Hudson, Donna Reed, and many others. Almost 100 feature films and countless video productions and commercials have been shot either in or around the Sedona area.

Get an insider's look at Sedona’s movie history with a visit to the telegraph office, originally built about 100 years ago and used as a railroad depot in Winona, Ariz. The building has been restored and relocated to the museum property.

A museum fee is required. Museum hours: Daily 11 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Amenities: Restrooms, picnicking, photography, historic buildings. Nature walking paths within the park. 

Tip: The telegraph building on the grounds of the Sedona Heritage Museum was once used as a telegraph office on the movie set of "Angel and the Badman" starring John Wayne and Gail Russell. 

Driving Directions: From the Visitor Center, 331 Forest Road, turn left on SR 89A. At the circle, take the 2nd exit to Jordan Rd for 0.5 miles to the museum entrance.